Tuesday, September 29, 2009

[ARC Review] - A Highlander's Temptation

Title: A Highlander's Temptation
Author: Sue-Ellen Welfonder
Series: MacKenzie
Genre: Historical Romance
Year: 2009 (Released Today)

I received this book for review from the author.

Summary: Darroc MacConacher spends sleepless nights dreaming of a raven-haired beauty who makes him ache with desire. Then his dream comes true: the lady with her lush curves and fair skin appears shipwrecked on his shores. Darroc is immediately drawn to her strength and beauty, and from the moment she lays eyes on this powerful, broad-shouldered warrior, Lady Arabella MacKenzie knows she'll never want another man.

But theirs is a forbidden love. The MacKenzies drove the MacConachers from their lands and destroyed their honor. Now, Darroc can use this sapphire-eyed seductress to shatter his foes. Yet how can he deny the passion that burns between him and Arabella, and ruin the one woman who touches his very soul?

Thoughts: Lady Arabella, eldest daughter of Duncan MacKenzie is lonely and longs for love, adventure and companionship. Mostly against her father's wishes she leaves home to find said adventure and maybe something more.

The sixth book in the MacKenzie series, A Highlander's Temptation was beautifully written. This is only my third time reading from the series, but I absolutely loved what I've read so far. In the prologue Ms. Welfonder writes about a stretch of coast in Scotland in such detail, you feel like you've been transported to that very spot. Her description of the places and time are a delight to read. Fans of Scotland and Highlanders shouldn't pass this series up.

Score: 4 Stars

Author Website: http://www.welfonder.com/

MacKenzie Series:
Devil in a Kilt
Bride of the Beast
Only for a Knight
Until the Knight Comes
Bride for a Knight
Seducing a Scottish Bride
A Highlander's Temptation

MacLean Series:
Knight in My Bed
Master of the Highland
Wedding for a Knight

Writing as Allie Mackay:
Highlander In Her Bed
Highlander In her Dreams
Tall, Dark and Kilted
Some Like It Kilted (February 2, 2010)


  1. Hey Anna! Wonderful review. I've been seeing this book all over and it sounds intriguing.

    BTW, I JUST finished LK's new one...LOVED IT!! I'm about to write up my review. Did you finish it???

  2. Thanks Barbara! I did finish Tempt Me At Twilight, and I loved it too! Looking forward to reading your review. :)

  3. Hi Anna,
    Yes I love Scotland and kilts :) Perfect book for me

  4. Great review. The book sounds great, can't wait to read it.

  5. Hey Anna! Great review hon!! I love this cover!
    And I just recently bought the book you are reading right now... Lisa's book! I can not wait to get my hands on that one to read... But all my books seem to scream at me to be read... LOL!!
    Hope you are having a great day!

  6. Thanks Cecile!! Hope you enjoy the LK book, so far I am. :)

  7. Sounds lovely! I would love to visit Scotland one day outside of books. *sigh*



Blog Widget by LinkWithin